RENO, Nev. – Ryan B. Kern, who has spent more than 280 hours spanning a three-year period volunteering at the VA Maryland Health Care System, has been awarded $7,500 by DAV (Disabled American Veterans) to pursue his goals in studying medicine at Salisbury University.

The 18-year-old is a recipient of the Jesse Brown Memorial Youth Scholarship, which is awarded annually to the top youth in the DAV Voluntary Services program. Named after former Secretary of Veterans Affairs Jesse Brown, it honors the memory of a DAV leader dedicated to serving veterans through recognition of those who carry on his legacy of service. The scholarship is open to volunteers age 21 and younger who have contributed a minimum of 100 hours credited through DAV or DAV Auxiliary.

The scholarship will be presented to Kern at the DAV and Auxiliary 97th National Convention July 14 in Reno, Nev.

“Ryan’s commitment to serving veterans is awe-inspiring,” said DAV National Voluntary Services Director John Kleindienst. “Along with volunteering for veterans, Ryan is also a caretaker for his grandmother. He is truly a compassionate, determined young man.”

“Ryan’s service to veterans and his community are proof of his selflessness and generosity,” said DAV National Adjutant Marc Burgess. “He inspires other young men and women to volunteer alongside him. His experiences working with medical personnel and staff will help him immensely in his pre-medical studies.”


About DAV:
DAV empowers veterans to lead high-quality lives with respect and dignity. It is dedicated to a single purpose: fulfilling our promises to the men and women who served. DAV does this by ensuring that veterans and their families can access the full range of benefits available to them; fighting for the interests of America’s injured heroes on Capitol Hill; providing employment resources to veterans and their families and educating the public about the great sacrifices and needs of veterans transitioning back to civilian life. DAV, a non-profit organization with more than 1 million members, was founded in 1920 and chartered by the U.S. Congress in 1932.