DAV announces 2018-2019 Outstanding Performance in Advocacy Award winners

posted on

DAV is pleased to announce the winners of the 2018-2019 Outstanding Performance in Advocacy Award for top-performing Benefits Protection Team Leaders (BPTL).

The newly-created award acknowledges each department’s commitment to supporting DAV’s national legislative goals. DAV greatly appreciates the efforts of the department commanders and the entire leadership teams over the past year in encouraging elected officials to support DAV’s legislative program and key priorities to ensure wartime service-disabled veterans receive the benefits and health services they need and deserve. DAV applauds the BPTLs dedication in taking on the responsibilities of serving in this important position.

Each award winner will receive authorization to attend DAV’s 2020 Mid-Winter Conference in Washington, D.C., February 23-26, where they, and their respective departments, will be recognized for outstanding advocacy on behalf of our nation’s wartime service-disabled veterans.

The 2018-2019 OPA Award winners are as follows:

Division l
Department of Virginia
BPTL Tom Wendel


Division ll
Department of Minnesota
BPTL Trent Dilks


Division lll
Department of Wisconsin
BPTL Al Labelle


Division lV
Department of Nebraska
BPTL James Shuey


Division V
Department of South Dakota
Gene Murphy