A Legacy of Service, Hope for the Future

DAV is the most long-lasting veterans advocacy and assistance group in this country. We’ve watched this country change and grow, and we’ve grown along with it. However, DAV has never wavered in its core mission to fulfill our country’s promises to the men and women who served. We invite everyone, veterans and civilian, men and women, young and old, to join us as we stand up for those veterans who risked it all when they stood up for us, our country, and our ideals.

DAV advocates for those men and women who defend the American way of life, and our leadership structure reflects that. Since our founding, our National Commander has been democratically elected by our member veterans. That tradition ensures that the DAV will always put service for America’s veterans first.

DAV Executive Committee 2013–14

  • National Commander Joseph W. Johnston, Ohio
  • Sr. Vice Commander Ron F. Hope, North Carolina
  • 1st Jr. Vice Commander Moses A. McIntosh Jr., Georgia
  • 2nd Jr. Vice Commander David W. Riley, Alabama
  • 3rd Jr. Vice Commander Delphine Metcalf-Foster, California
  • 4th Jr. Vice Commander Dennis L. Krulder, New York
  • National Judge Advocate Michael E. Dobmeier, North Dakota
  • National Chaplain Ronald R. Ringo, Jr., California
  • Past National Commander Larry A. Polzin, California
  • NEC 1st John V. Hogan, Massachusetts
  • NEC 2nd District David Wilson, New York
  • NEC 3rd District Ron Reilly, New Hampsire
  • NEC 4th District H. Mark Wischmann, Delaware
  • NEC 5th District Albert Burlikowski, Pennsylvania
  • NEC 6th District Glynn E. Parker, Maryland
  • NEC 7th District John E. Markiewicz, Florida
  • NEC 8th District Chad Richmond, Alabama
  • NEC 9th District Harmon L. Evans, South Carolina
  • NEC 10th District John Lamphere, Michigan
  • NEC 11th District Herman W. Morton, Ohio
  • NEC 12th District Dennis W. Thompson, Illinois
  • NEC 13th District James S. Huff, Kentucky
  • NEC 14th District H. G. Krosschell, South Dakota
  • NEC 15th District David W. Brader, Kansas
  • NEC 16th District Marlowe Benner, California
  • NEC 17th District Gary Lucus, Wyoming
  • NEC 18th District Edward Kawamura, Hawaii
  • NEC 19th District Fay A. Lyon, Washington
  • NEC 20th District Edgar Meiser, Texas
  • NEC 21st District Danny Oliver, Oklahoma

DAV Board of Directors 2013–14

  • Chairman Larry A. Polzin, California
  • Vice-Chairman, Ron F. Hope, North Carolina
  • Secretary Marc Burgess, Kentucky
  • Treasurer Chad Richmond, Alabama
  • Director Danny Oliver, Oklahoma
  • Director Marlowe Benner, California
  • Director Gary Lucus, Wyoming
  • Advisor Joseph W. Johnston, Ohio
  • Advisor Michael E. Dobmeier, North Dakota